Want a set of Team Elizabeth and Team Jessica shirts? IT’S GIVEAWAY TIME!

22 Aug

I was rather surprised when Sweet Valley Confidential contacted me recently, offering a set of TEAM ELIZABETH and TEAM JESSICA T-shirts for a give-away for you guys.

Sucked in unicorn club - even you guys didn't have matching shirts THIS awesome

For starters, 75% of this blog is committed to snarking about all the ridiculous things that went down in Sweet Valley, and I haven’t exactly had a million nice things to say about Fran-Pasc, either.

But you, my lovely readers, have the opportunity to win a set of the official shirts right here, which is probably easier than entering the facebook contests on SVC’s page [they’re up to something like 11,000 fans]

To win, simply leave a brief comment here telling me your favourite Sweet Valley character [any series] and what you loved most about them.

Winner will be judged on merit and I will email you the contact details so you can receive this very coveted prize!

Unfortunately, SVC can only ship to the USA and Canada, which I learned the hard way after spending hours on Twitter trying to win my own set here in Australia :[

Congratulations to DeathyCat and Cheryl, who are the winners of a Team Winston shirt from our last giveaway. Please sent postage details to winston.egbert@hotmail.co.uk and I’ll post out your prizes promptly!

UPDATE: CONGRATULATIONS TO EMILY, who picked Margo as her favourite character! I am amused that someone else also reads “The Evil Twin” on Christmas Eve [although I alternate yearly with “Return of the Evil Twin”]. Email me on winston.egbert@hotmail.co.uk and I’ll tell you how to collect your prize from SVC!

Congrats on the great responses everyone!

Winston

28 Responses to “Want a set of Team Elizabeth and Team Jessica shirts? IT’S GIVEAWAY TIME!”

  1. megan s. August 22, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    I think mine has to be Jessica because she gets away with anything she does, and she’s a psycho! Plus she has Liz to bail her out of everything! The only sad part is all her dead boyfriends! Even if she get’s over most of them quickly!

  2. Dawn August 23, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    Bill Chase! He was smart, romantic without being icky, and had a variety of seemingly disparate interests (Hemingway, surfing, old movies, drama club) without self-consciousness. He had that whole loner thing going on, but without being a faux-James Dean jerk (I’m looking at you, Dylan McKay, you Ersatz-Bill Chase cretin). But unlike any other SVH character, Bill also didn’t go whole-hog with unhealthy relationships in the name of love; he knew when Dee Dee’s Stage Five Clinger bs was a problem, and didn’t rush to resolve it with a kiss and “omg twu wuv!” like every other SVH couple.

    The resemblance to Billy Zabka was a little much, though. I wonder if people in the caf spontaneously lift tables and spill food at him…?

  3. Beth August 23, 2010 at 4:26 am #

    Lila Fowler. Because she’s rich, duh.

  4. Maria August 23, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    Enid! Because you KNOW she’ll be a nerdy cam-girl/blogger with cool chunky glasses and possibly neat tattoos once she starts at SVU in the re-boot. She’ll be like Diablo Cody, only friends with Jessica and Liz for some odd reason.

  5. katie. August 23, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    My favorite character was Mandy Miller, from SVT and The Unicorn Club. Not only did she beat cancer in just one book, but she wore awesome thrift store outfits. Seriously, her fashion sense rivaled Claudia from That Other Series, except Mandy’s outfits actually sounded cool rather than being like, a halter dress made of tie-dyed fish scales. Also, Mandy had freakin’ awesome hair, which grew back magically quickly after her pseudo-cancer. She was never as mean as the other Unicorns, and in the Unicorn series she actually made the club into a positive organization rather than a gaggle of sociopaths. Not that sociopathy isn’t entertaining, but if Sweet Valley were real (hahahahaha) it would be nice to have someone like Mandy to keep Jessica in check, without being such a snotty little doormat as Elizabeth. And also, did you know she used to have cancer? Too bad she apparently went to Sweet Valley’s highly mysterious other High School.

  6. Emily August 23, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Margo has to be the best Sweet Valley character ever, no contest. How could you beat the crazy drama that Margo bought to the series? The Evil Twin is the greatest achievement in the entirety of the Sweet Valley franchise in my opinion. It’s still my tradition to read The Evil Twin in the week leading up to Christmas.

  7. Josh August 23, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    In my opinion, few characters can top the insane awesomeness of William White from the SVU series. Between being the leader of a Secret Society, being psychotically obsessed with Elizabeth, and organizing a “virtual reality” event at SVU simply to get closer to Elizabeth, the guy has it all.

  8. Sarah August 23, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    Nick Fox! He sounded. . .insanely hot, and he put up with a minimal amount of Jessica’s BS. Plus, uh, he was hot!

  9. Erin August 23, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    Amy Sutton – because she went from being the lamest, nerdiest nerd to being the most useless witch.

  10. jennicakes August 23, 2010 at 11:46 pm #

    Lila! Because she was cooler than Jessica without having to try as hard.

  11. Kim August 24, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    Lila Fowler. Did you not read the SVU book where she and Bruce were stranded on a mountain and she caught fish naked and nursed Bruce back to life? She’s amazing!

  12. Miss Moppet August 24, 2010 at 5:15 am #

    This is noble, Winston – you’re hosting a giveaway even though you can’t win T-shirts yourself. But no less than I’d expect of the class clown with integrity.

    Don’t enter me, because I’m in the UK, but I’m another Lila fan – because she was one of the few who could put Liz in her place on occasion. One of my other most admired characters is Heather Malone – for the way she dealt with Jess’s nasty initiation rituals into cheerleading.

  13. Maile August 24, 2010 at 5:36 am #

    I always loved Olivia. As someone who was a bit of an artistic outcast myself, I loved looking at the world through her eyes. She had friends and dated, but she was constantly seeing the world around her as though she wasn’t quite a part of it. So often we saw her wanting to fit in (something most teenagers could identify with) while at the same time striving to be herself, the very thing that made her stand out.

    When she found Ken online it was perfect. Olivia is the sort of girl who would thrive as a modern teenager, using blogs to share her teenage poetry and artwork. Instead she finds love and acceptance, only to lose her life.

    She will always be my favorite.

  14. Ella D. August 24, 2010 at 5:51 am #

    Lila. Because far and a way she is the most independent, smart, and capable character in the series. She knocked out a psychopathic murdered with a rolling pin, ensuring her place in my heart forever.

    I would much rather have been her friend than the Wakefields’.

    Although Liz and Jess would be amazing to gossip with.

  15. Lauri August 24, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    Ken Matthews. I’ve always liked to look at jocks. He always seemed like a nice guy. I was so happy when Jess started to date him and relieved that he didn’t die in the break-up. He hung out without Todd sometimes during Senior Year not abandoning all his old SVH friends for the new “cooler” (more annoying) El Carro kids. Or I always liked Cap Garland in the Little House books, and I related him and Ken.

  16. kristyn August 24, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Bruce Patman. He, like Lila, was snobby and full of himself, but he was a three dimensional character. He wasn’t 100 percent evil (although he came pretty close with his attempted date rapes) and he wasn’t 100 percent good (his turn around after meeting Regina) but these sides of him were shown, instead of being a constant goody goody like Liz or a conniving pyscho like Jessica. He was a drawn out, fully formed character. I can’t wait for SVC, and his part in it.

  17. Liz August 24, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Let me just dole out my four snaps in a “z” formation to the fierce, fine and fly Elizabeth Wakefield, aka greatest resident of Sweet Valley EVER. Not only did she enjoy a delightfully inappropriate relationship with Roger Collins and inspire the first Todd punch, but Elizabeth’s description of craving pancakes during her unfortunate kidnapping by Carl the orderly is a thing of beauty as is her passing judgement on fat Robin Wilson eating a candy bar. If you show me some love, I promise to wear the shirts with my lavaliere whilst attempting to secure a red spider fiat to cruise around in. Just sayin’.

    Runner up: Regina Morrow whose crazy story arc made me just say no way more than Nancy Reagan ever did

  18. rickandovertheoriginalsituation August 24, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Look. Here’s the thing. It’s really hard to choose. But I’ve gotta give props to my girl, Lila Fowler. The original ice queen, the baddest biotch of them all, Blair Waldorf WISHES she had some of that girl’s moves. And in a world where YA teen series was telling millions of girls they had to be blonde to be awesome (Stacey McGill who?), Lila was there to teach me that you could be slamming AND brunette, and the people would be there to worship you. From Bruce Patman, to Jake Hamilton, to Jimmy Lancer, girl knows how to GET it. Hell, that girl even tasted some of what Steven Wakefield had to offer! (Of course, there were those incidences with John Pfeifer and the Count, but hey, can’t have a perfect record!) Jessica Takes Manhattan? LILA TAKES THE WORLD. I’m pretty sure I’m naming my first born after her. If I can find a rich mofo like George Fowler, that is.

  19. pibetaalpha August 24, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    Jessica! Because she had undeniable social clout. “No one dared object to a friend of the Wakefield twins.” (Power Play)

  20. winstonegbert August 24, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    Even I am highly amused by these replies [and that’s saying something for a class clown.] So much love for Lila!
    Keep the comments coming – and feel free to like WHAT WINSTON SAW on facebook for blog updates/ results of giveaways!

    Check the archives for some past SV snarking, and I promise more is on the way!

    Good luck!
    You know you love me
    xoxowinston

    • Jennifer August 25, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

      Growing up my favorite character was Elizabeth. My reasoning was pretty stupid, but she was just so interesting to me. I know, ha, Elizabeth – interesting? Does not compute. But in a way I admired her ‘doormat syndrome’ and how she loved Jessica unconditionally and would do absolutely anything for her. I have trouble letting go of even little things so to read about Elizabeth, who was so willing to forgive Jessica over and over again for events ranging from accusing her boyfriend of rape to letting her take the rap for a murder charge was mind-boggling for me. I mean if Jessica was my sister I would have drowned her in the Pacific Ocean a long time ago.

  21. Lorelai August 25, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Bruce Patman by far! He’s the guy you’d want to be seen with, as long as it’s in the daylight hours and not in 1bruce1 after a few dixie cupfulls of wine. He was the leader of a double-denim wearing gang that routinely beat up the Palisaides kids, which is a plus because, hello, fighting! Hot! (Way hotter than when Todd does it!) Also, he totes nailed Lila in SVU and they bought a freakin’ donut shop together!

    Plus, he likes deaf people.

  22. Shauna August 26, 2010 at 6:13 am #

    Nora Chapelle. She goes from misfit to full-on murderer in no time. Plus I like the OCD and how her smells have colours, even though she couldn’t possibly be smelling things at some points (like when she smelled/saw someone’s perfume through the phone).

  23. Tiff August 31, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    Is it wrong that I totally heart Jade Wu? Maybe it’s because of her ridiculously intolerant, racial stereotype, laundromat-owning parents who hate that “contemporary” dance that Jade does (re: ballet), or the fact that she totally wins them over, gets offered an awesome scholarship only to turn it down because they want her to change her name to something more “Western”. As an Asian, ballet-loving eighth grader, I ate that up.

    BUT IT GETS BETTER. Not only does she show up Amy-friggin-Sutton, but is later recruited onto Jessica’s rocking alterna-cheerleading squad, and then, in SV: Senior Year, transforms into an awesome, quirky barista who steals Jessica’s boyfriend from right under her nose. Also, her mom is writing a series based on those friends of hers, the Wakefield twins. So basically, Jade is single-handedly responsible for the awesomeness that is SVH. Can’t argue with that.

  24. CYNTHIA CARPENTER September 1, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    Hi! my fave is of course Elizabeth bc she is so mature and responsible…just like me!
    thanks for this contest….i would love a tshirt sooooo much!

  25. Cindy C September 1, 2010 at 1:21 am #

    i love Jessica bc she is so fun and acts like she can get away with anything..

  26. Wendi September 2, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    My favorite character is Elizabeth. I love that she is an aspiring writer, that she carries her journal almost anywhere (and writes in it, too, anywhere). I used to think that I was the only one doing this, and then Elizabeth did it too. I love how she loves with her whole heart, her sister unconditionally, Todd – no matter what bonehead thing he had done, her friends Enid, Olivia, Nina. When at SVU and she had such a hard time adjusting, I cried with her and rejoiced when she met Tom Watts. I remember at one time, wishing to be just like her, right down to the same brown knapsack and ponytail. She’s loyal sister, loving girlfriend, caring daughter, a dedicated student, and determined writer…plus she gets to have adventures and sometimes help solve mysteries. Yes, my favorite is still Lizzie, I think.

Leave a Reply

