Calling all Aussies: It’s a Sweet Valley Confidential Party! [CHANGE OF DATE]

2 Mar

As many of us are aware, Sweet Valley Confidential fever is upon us. And nowhere in the world is it bigger than right here, in Australia.

Some of you have suggested – and indeed it has been an idea of mine for some time – that we meet up to read/discuss/drink/laugh over the new book .

Don’t laugh, I’m actually serious. And yeah, I planned annual leave around the release of SVC.

I don’t know where the majority of people are based, but I am close to Sydney and would be happy to hang out there for the day.

How would this sound for a Sweet Valley day on SATURDAY April 2nd this year:

  1. I pre-order a stack of Sweet Valley Confidential from Borders Bondi Junction [some hard copy, some paperback]
  2. Everyone who wants to join dresses up as their favourite SVH character. [No prizes for guessing who I will be – but Sweet Valley IS dopplegangland so I guess 10 Margos is totally acceptable.]
  3. We congregate at Borders at 930am and get our copy of the book.
  4. We catch the rail* to Darling Harbour [a 5 minute trip] for a cruisy morning reading session. I will provide a picnic of pretzels, soda water and other Sweet Valley-themed food. *Please note that this plebeian experience is not so we can mix with people like the Martins [ew!] but so we can sympathise and shoulder pat those poor, poor, people who use public transport.
  5. We open the wine [warm, and served in paper cups, of course] and play the Sweet Valley High board game [possibly with drinking game rules!]. I might even think of some other SVH themed activities – trivia [inspired by Caroline Pearce]; “Who Would You Do” [inspired by Nicholas Morrow’s experiment on ‘Hunks’] and “Never Have I Ever” using experiences from
  6. We head over to the Palomar House equivalent – James Squire at Darling Harbour – for drinks and lunch and hang out with our new found friends.

If this sounds like your kind of day, please contact me via email

Winston.egbert@hotmail.co.uk and we can organise numbers, transport, maps, table bookings and other logistics. I am happy to pre-order a few books and be reimbursed later.

YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO! Come and join the fun, we’ll party like it’s 1983 and the Beach Disco is going off [Droids optional]

ADDITIONAL:  THERE is a facebook event page now at http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=176375609074796

DATE has been changed to accomodate more people! Hope you can make it!

11 Responses to “Calling all Aussies: It’s a Sweet Valley Confidential Party! [CHANGE OF DATE]”

  1. Britt March 2, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Haha! This sounds brilliant. Pity I’m in Melbourne. 😦

  2. Totally Sweet Valley March 2, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    Aw, I’m jealous! sadly I cant make the trip from New Zealand right now 😦 But good luck, sounds like alot of fun!!

  3. jane March 2, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Um, totally, yes. You should put this on the 1bruce1 LJ -they were talking about a convention a few posts ago! So awesome!

  4. ceruleanbreeze March 2, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    I’m in London, so obviously can’t make the Sydney meet. I am, however, happy to meet up with people over here (if there are any).

    • ceruleanbreeze March 2, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

      Oh, this did work. Oops. There’s no delete button.

  5. ceruleanbreeze March 2, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    I am living in London at the moment so obviously can’t make the Sydney meet. I can, however, meet up with any Sweet Valleyians over here for something of a similar nature. 🙂

  6. Samantha March 3, 2011 at 5:45 am #

    Oh my lord, how I wish I could attend this; damn you Canada! Have an amazing time and please blog all about it. It’ll kinda be like when Jessica finally met Charlie in person from the teen party line. You guys should all bring red roses to identify yourselves.

    And might I suggest some heaping portions of blueberry pancakes for your Sweet Valley-themed food?

    • winstonegbert March 3, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      Roses! Yes! Or I might just dress up as Magenta Galaxy. Maybe we should wear lavalieres to identify ourselves?

  7. Sam March 3, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    This sounds awesome – arrrgh shattered I can’t come as I’m in Melbourne! Then again, there could be cheap flights (strokes chin thoughtfully)…

    • winstonegbert March 3, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      Plus we’ve changed to Saturday 2nd now. So no excuse!

  8. liesel March 7, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    what an awesome idea :)!!! i’d def party w/ you if i were near that end of the world…but nonetheless, have a great time!! and make sure to blog about it after 🙂

Leave a Reply

