Margo Lives!

10 Sep

A Margo Black Tribute

[and a call for guest bloggers!]

“Margo Black was the best thing that ever happened to Sweet Valley. Once we’d gotten past the fact that there was someone out there IDENTICAL to Elizabeth and Jessica Wakefield, The Evil Twin rasped her way into a special spot in our hearts.
From murdering small children, to hiding out in the Wakefield’s basement, to pushing Jessica’s boyfriend off a cliff, Margo was one crazy chick. She drank, she hung out at Kelly’s, and with her array of glittering knives, she got some serious shit done. She was smart, and calculating, managing to convince all the Wakefield’s friends, [including LILA] that she was born to be a Wakefield.
I for one refuse to believe we’ve heard the last of Margo Black. Given that the first time she supposedly died, she managed to survive a carotid artery laceration and hijack the ambulance, only to hide out in Sweet Valley graveyard until her twin, Nora, showed up. So yeah, as far as I’m concerned, Margo lives.
If this group gets enough members, we will use it to petition Francine Pascal and St Martin’s Press so that in the sequel to Sweet Valley Confidential, Margo will FINALLY get the life that is rightfully hers. 
Here’s to all the Team Margo’s out there, and to ending fifteen years of unfinished business.
Margo Forever!”

Margo Lives. That is the mission statement from our growing campaign “Bring Margo Back From The Dead.”

No shit. In all seriousness, if Francine Pascal is going to all the trouble of bringing out the SVConfidential sequels in online instalments, [yes, you heard right] she deserves to know what the fans want. And what do we want? Margo Lives! Margo Lives! Margo Lives!

A very keen blogger, Samantha , mailed this brilliant letter to Francine’s office in New York, detailing her ideas for a Margo resurgence in the upcoming instalments of SVC. [Warning: Confidential Spoilers in the letter]

Margo Lives!

We are yet to hear back from Ms Pascal, but she’s been added to the group, so fingers crossed she will respond to this epic idea.

Now I’m all for a bit of guest posting, and I’ve laughed myself silly over Samantha’s letter. So now I invite you to send in your ideas about how Margo can be resurrected and what she would be getting up to, so many years later. You can construct a piece of fiction as above, or if writing isn’t your thing you might want to leave a couple of comments about it. And remember – the more far-fetched the better. [After all, Margo has escaped a carotid artery laceration and survived in a graveyard for a year.]

Segue:

On a side note, has anyone seen Eddie and The Cruisers? It’s an 80’s classic cult film about a rock star who fakes his own death and turns up 18 years later. The movie has a sad, nostalgic quality as 20 years on, people revisit Eddie’s music. The dialogue is dodgy at best but the film is held together by an amazing soundtrack featuring the Beaver Brown Band.

And the catch cry of the audience? Eddie Lives! Eddie Lives! Eddie! Eddie!

Segue back:

Margo Lives! Margo Lives! Margo! Margo! Margo! [and Nora!] All together now – Margo! Margo!

21 Responses to “Margo Lives!”

  1. Daniella September 11, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    So I’m NOT the only person in our age group that loves Eddie and the Cruisers!! Though I admit the second one was not quite as good. This is a great idea, I will have to think up something Margo-worthy for how she comes back…

    • winstonegbert September 12, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

      No way! I thought Eddie was unknown to anyone beyond me and my Dad [and those we mercilessly force him on]. Also I have a major crush on Frank Ridgeway. You should totally check out the book by PF Kluge.

      And please please please send me your Margo ideas!

      • Daniella September 25, 2011 at 7:23 am #

        I’m thinking along these lines…what if Jessica and Elizabeth’s cousin, Kelly Bates, ran away from her mom (in Arizona, I think?) and made it back to California to be with her dad. When she realized he really didn’t give a damn about her, she took off again to Sweet Valley, hatching her own separate plot to take over as Jessica (because as we learned in The Evil Twin Returns, NO ONE wants to be Elizabeth). If I remember correctly, whatever book Kelly Bates was in during SVH made mention of her almost passing for a triplet to the Wakefield twins. Kelly stalked Jessica like Margo did, impersonating her to Alice, Ken, and Lila. She couldn’t help herself on New Year’s Eve, and, figuring party-gal Jessica would be out all night, took a nap and dreamed of becoming Jessica Wakefield. Bad timing, Kelly, seeing as how Nora was out to get Jessica too.
        Perhaps this seems implausible, but is it really any more implausible than surviving a carotid artery laceration? Probably not 🙂 If attempts at complete identity theft can happen to the Wakefields on 2 separate occasions, why not 2 attempts at once??

        And yes, I DID think about this way too much 🙂

        • winstonegbert September 30, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

          I completely forgot Kelly – did she actually stalk Jessica in SVT??

          • Daniella September 30, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

            No, she didn’t actually stalk Jessica. I forget which SVH novel she appears in that they mention her looking like the twins. And of course, she mentions the Wakefields’ perfect life. So, you never know…maybe it WAS her in Jessica’s bed that New Year’s Eve, and not Margo…

  2. Laura Kate September 12, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Oh! That was hysterical. Out of lack of better things to do I picked up “The Arrest” the other day… Margo was 137 kinds of awesome. I’ve got no idea how to “guest post” but I’d love to take you up on the idea… 🙂

    • winstonegbert September 12, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

      Is that the one where she filches butcher’s knives from the caterers? I have a 23 hour plane ride this Xmas so my aim is to get through the entire Margo miniseries.

      Also feel free to email anything you come up with! Any ideas are welcome.

  3. Liesel September 13, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    I have absolutely no idea as to what to contribute to this project as i’ll openly admit i’m quite terrible w/ things regarding character revivals and stuff etc….
    However, I love your approach, enthusiasm and effort in trying to push this project forward; you most definitely get my backing and support in this. I’ll be dedicating a Margo/ Nora – Jess/ Liz layout in honour of your efforts 🙂

    • Gleek 88 September 18, 2011 at 9:31 am #

      i like this idea but i do not think they will entertain it if i am being honest. svc shows that they have long chosen to move past all that sort of madness and make it more prevalent to todays times like sex and the city. francine has also said, she will jazz it up city style like satc in an interview. your idea is sweet, but not sound. plus the sv fanbase is not what it used to be. everyone is either a 20-40yr old adult who cannot be bothered to put any effort in to causes like this or a fan who has no respect anymore for the series cos of the damnation brought upon it by svc.
      i applaud you winston for ur effort though. like the above user and the others, i support you even though i think fp will not.

      • winstonegbert September 30, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

        You make a good point. And I can totally understand FP and her St Martin’s associates bringing SV up to the new decade SATC-style. I can see how that would appeal to a 20- or 30-something fanbase. I guess my issue is that the old fans don’t want a made-over Sweet Valley – they want scheming, and dances, and bad-80’s hair, and evil villains who try to steal faces or sit in Sweet Valley jail for decades plotting revenge on the Wakefields. I actually enjoyed SVC, but the response from most of the fans was much the opposite. The fans don’t want realism, they want a tongue in cheek look back at these books. But you’re right – getting FP to listen is another story!

  4. Samantha September 19, 2011 at 4:04 am #

    Yay! We’re officially in business! It is my hope that this will inspire more Margo-themed letters, emails, t-shirts and much more (screenplays? magnets?!). I have an idea for another letter, this one traveling back in time a’la Wakefields of Sweet Valley style, tracing Margo’s ancestors intertwining with the Wakefield’s throughout history. I’d love to see Margo in pioneer times.

    And whether or not Francine actually picks up on this plan, I think the main point is that it’s just a fun, creative way to express our affection for SVH. It’s a little tongue-in-cheek but the enthusiasm is real and I love that. I know that I never read SVH as a kid(/adult) in the hopes of finding relatable stories, and nor will I read SVC for that. Bring on the madness, Francine.

    • Liesel September 24, 2011 at 4:33 am #

      “…I have an idea for another letter, this one traveling back in time a’la Wakefields of Sweet Valley style, tracing Margo’s ancestors intertwining with the Wakefield’s throughout history. I’d love to see Margo in pioneer times…”

      This is actually quite a neat idea. I’ve never even contemplated the idea of characters and time periods crossing-over and finding that middle-ground for a storyline to pan out. Brilliant! ^_^
      Even, If say… the idea isn’t entertained, would you yourself consider following it up in the form of a fic? Either way, i’d love to see/ read your ideas.

      • SWC/ Red September 25, 2011 at 4:09 am #

        yes for fanfic 😀

        question for winston, where did u get those prom doll outfits from?

        • winstonegbert September 30, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

          Sadly, they are not dresses but mere scraps of satin. Blu tac is a wonderful thing.

      • Samantha September 27, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

        Oh man, that would be a really fun (and epic) fanfic! I would totally love to attempt that. I’m actually working on another SVH fanfic at the moment, so once I finish that I’ll try to do Margo some justice. The current one is a Sweet Valley High/Lord of the Rings erotic crossover fanfic, with a few guest stars (Largo, my homage to Margo, but she stalks Lila instead–way more fun), a Sound of Music crossover and a few other surprises. Francine would be appalled.

        Chapter one is up on my blog if you’d like to take a look. 🙂

        • SWC/ Red September 29, 2011 at 11:31 pm #

          will check it out :d thanks!

        • winstonegbert September 30, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

          ” And a mysterious older man in white has caught Elizabeth’s eye. Who is this Gandalf, and how does he have so much wisdom? ”

          Holy fuck, that is THE funniest thing I have ever read. Also loved the office reference. I am starting on chapter two now. Right after I email the link to my Dad. He is going to cack himself.

          • winstonegbert September 30, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

            Also, you should send this to FP.

            • Samantha October 2, 2011 at 1:58 am #

              Haha, thank you for reading it! Coming from the author of When Lila Met Stacey, my favorite fanfic, I take that as a major compliment. I also hope your Dad enjoys it–I bet his knowledge of SVH is pretty vast, thanks to you. My own Dad has spent a fair amount of time searching for Buffy the Vampire Slayer items for me.

              And I will send FP a leatherbound copy once completed, but I fear she has put a ban on all communication from me and that is why we have not heard back from the Margo letter. Not like that’s gonna stop me.

  5. Da Pupster August 12, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    To really be farfetched and crazy, that could of been Margo/Nora’s mother killed. In a great and farfetched way it could be the mother who wanted to kill Alice and become Alice and have the husband and beautiful children she never had and always always deserved! But she snuck into Jessica’s room and was sleeping. Because you know, Alice can pass for the Wakefield’s older sister and Margo really was watching Nora all along and breaks Nora out of jail.
    Margo/Nora saga is the most exciting and most fun out of this whole series. It also had that ‘end’feel to it as if the series was supposed to end at 100 books but then got commissioned on for more.
    I’m surprised that a lot of people have an actual like for Margo/Nora!
    101 was hard to get into thereafter. None of the scary thrillers could top Margo!

    In my grand homage to Margo, I am making an Alliance Human Rogue in World of Warcraft named Margoblack.
    The alliance is the evil side so Margo would be perfect for that side (I play Horde-side so yes, Alliance is Evil)
    Rogues use daggers, Margo is a knife collector.
    Rogues are best to creep around and spy.
    I actually hate Rogues. So its going to be an absolute challenge.

  6. Da Pupster August 15, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    Also i forgot to mention , Margo/Nora’s mother faked her death too way back when

Leave a Reply

